About Us

The State of  Florida is divided into 20 geographical areas known as Judicial Circuits.  Each circuit has an elected State Attorney. The 20th Judicial Circuit, formed in 1969,  consists of five counties: Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry, and Lee.  It is the largest circuit, geographically, in the state.

Under our Florida Constitution, the State Attorney serves as the prosecutor, representing the people in criminal courts throughout the circuit.

The primary function of the State Attorney’s Office is to review criminal investigations and complaints submitted by law enforcement agencies and others, filing formal charges supported by the law and the evidence, and then presenting these cases in our courts.

By holding persons accountable for their criminal acts, the State Attorney’s office seeks to deter crime and to ensure Southwest Florida is a safe place for our citizens and visitors.

Stephen B. Russell is only the second State Attorney for the 20th Judicial Circuit, succeeding Joseph P. D’Alessandro, who served for 33 years prior to Steve’s election to the office in 2002.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.